Monroe Harding’s Response to COVID-19

 

Updated 8/18/2021

The health and well-being of our young people, families, staff, volunteers, and partners continue to be our number one priority. To help prevent the continued spread of COVID-19, our main office in the MetroCenter remains closed. The Youth Connections Resource Center and Opportunity Now Reengagement Hub in downtown Nashville are open but appointments are strongly encouraged. Masks are required.

Foster Care: We continue to place children and teens with foster parents, and recruit and train new parents. We are currently serving approximately 50 foster children and teens. Staff is providing resources and guidance virtually to the greatest extent possible.

Supportive Housing: Youth aging out of foster care, as well as other vulnerable young adults in Nashville, remain in desperate need of housing. We continue to provide homes to approximately 40 to 45 young adults currently living with us that are pursuing their education, working, or both.

Youth Connections / Opportunity Now Reengagement Hub: We continue to engage our young adults virtually, connecting them to necessary resources and promoting personal safety and self-care. Since July 2021, we supported 185 unique young adults at YC and 33 Opportunity Youth at the Hub.

Clinical Services: Critical emotional and mental health services are being provided virtually and as needed.

For Our Supporters

The impact of COVID-19 on the Monroe Harding community highlights both the immediate and longer-term needs for our foster care children, teens, and families, and other vulnerable young people. These needs include essential support like food and health supplies, education and career readiness training, and ongoing support for youth and families displaced from their jobs or impacted by economic hardship, along with emotional and mental health support. Your generous and thoughtful donation to support our efforts is more critical now than ever as we continue to meet the needs of our young people and families. You can donate online by visiting https://www.monroeharding.org/donate/, mailing your donation by check to our office, and/or donating items from our current needs list.

We are offering volunteer opportunities. More information is available by contacting Emelie Harris, Engagement Coordinator, at (615) 298-5573 or emelieharris@monroeharding.org.

If you would like to discuss your support, please contact Jackie Shrago, Interim Sr. Director of Development and Communications at (615) 298-5573 or jackieshrago@monroeharding.org.

If you would like to donate in-kind goods/services for us to distribute to our young people and families, please contact Mandy Hernandez at mandyhernandez@monroeharding.org or (629) 888-1021.

For Our Young Adults

For information about enrolling in our Distance Learning HiSET and high school diploma programs, please contact Chaney Cruze, Director of Education, at (615) 714-4207 or chaneycruze@monroeharding.org.

For information on post-secondary support and tutoring please contact Emily Grohs, Education Coordinator, at (615) 306-5316 or emilygrohs@monroeharding.org.

For information on online Opportunity Passport enrollment, please contact Georgianna Hooker, Life Skills Coordinator at georgiannahooker@monroeharding.org, or (615) 487-2648.

For information on our next Works Wonders® career readiness training and our online employer engagement curriculum, please contact Brittany Croom, Employment Specialist, at (615) 477-6007 or brittanycroom@monroeharding.org.

The Opportunity Now Reengagement Hub at Monroe Harding is accepting new clients as we continue our work virtually with young adults who are victims of crime, connecting them to necessary resources to help them reach their educational and vocational goals. Please contact Ginger Harris at (616) 487-0550 or Bassam Habib at bassamhabib@monroeharding.org, or (615) 487-9470.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This